This is the content of the pop-over!

Take an NES Practice Test

A National Evaluation Series (NES) practice test from Exam Edge is the best way to prepare for the teacher licensing exams used in eight US states: Arizona, California, Colorado, Illinois, New Mexico, Oregon, Washington and Wisconsin.

New teachers must demonstrate pedagogical knowledge and skills before entering the classroom, and NES exams ensure licensed educators in these states are held to the highest professional standards. Find out what to expect on the exams with NES practice tests from Exam Edge.

Demonstrate your mastery of teaching and learning with Exam Edge's NES test prep. Gain familiarity with the content and format of the exams and identify your lowest-scoring areas so that you can study smarter.

Feel confident going into the exam with thorough NES exam prep for time management. Exam Edge's unique national evaluation series practice test allows you to control the timing of the test so that you can get comfortable with pacing however you choose.

NES practice exams are a proven study method for improved test performance. Identify knowledge gaps to guide your study time to the areas you need it most. Start now with an NES practice test!

Browse For Your Exam :

View all practice test for your State or Region

What are National Evaluation Series Tests?

Designed to assess the classroom readiness of new educators, the NES tests are frequently used to qualify teachers in Oregon, Arizona, Colorado, California, Washington, Illinois, Wisconsin and New Mexico. While not required for every teaching job in those states, a passing NES score is necessary for most public school positions. Comprised of 38 different teaching examinations, the NES tests are broken up into six categories: Professional Knowledge, Elementary Assessments, Middle Grades Assessments, Secondary Assessments, K-12 Assessment and Essential Academic Skills. The computer-based exams rely heavily on multiple-choice questions, though some tests include constructed response items. No matter which test you're registered for, NES practice exams are a great way to prepare yourself for the real thing.

Who Should Take NES Tests?

If you're hoping to teach public school in Illinois, Wisconsin, New Mexico, Washington, Oregon, California, Colorado or Arizona, you'll likely need to take and pass at least one NES test. Aspiring teachers in those states should complete their college coursework before registering for the exam. It's also worth checking the requirements of the school district where you hope to work – every district has different qualifications for the teachers they hire. Should you need to register for a NES test, make sure you undergo extensive NES exam prep ahead of your test date.

Passing Scores on NES Tests

Each NES test is scored on a scale of 100 to 300 points. In order to pass, you'll need to score at least 220 points on each exam. Individual states and school districts may set their required scores higher, though, so it's a good idea to check to see what score you'll need to earn in order to work as a teacher in your preferred area. This information can help guide your NES test prep and inform your study strategies.

How to Prepare for Your National Evaluation Series Test

There's no one way to prepare for the NES, but studies repeatedly find that practice testing is one of the best forms of exam prep. By identifying exactly which topics and subject areas you struggle with, you'll be able to study smarter, not harder. NES exam practice tests are the ideal way to familiarize yourself with the content, pacing and format of the test – all from the convenience of your living room.

If you're serious about passing your NES on your first attempt, take an NES practice test now. Exam Edge offers FREE sample practice tests for new users.

Who is National Evaluation Series ?

NES stands for National Evaluation Series, a group of teacher certification tests developed by the Evaluation Systems group of Pearson. The NES teacher certification tests are comprehensive exams aligned to professionally accepted national learning standards, covering areas such as Essential Academic Skills, Professional Knowledge, Elementary Education, and various Secondary Education subjects.

Below are the steps to take the NES certification exams:

Step 1: Eligibility and Application
Before taking an NES test, ensure that you meet the eligibility requirements. These may vary depending on the state and the specific test you plan to take. You must apply for the test via the official NES website.

Step 2: Scheduling the Exam
Once your application is approved, you can schedule your test. The NES exams are computer-based and are offered by appointment year-round, Monday through Saturday (excluding some holidays), at flexible times and locations.

Step 3: Taking the Exam
On the day of the exam, arrive at the testing center at the scheduled time. Be sure to bring the necessary identification. The specific process and rules may vary depending on the test center.

The NES tests are administered at Pearson VUE authorized test centers which are located throughout the United States and internationally. You can find a test center near you using the Test Center Locator on the NES website.