This is the content of the pop-over!

NARM Exam & NARM Certification Info

Who is the NARM?

NARM stands for the North American Registry of Midwives. It is an international certification agency whose mission is to set and administer certification for the competent practice of midwives. NARM is responsible for the development and administration of the Certified Professional Midwife (CPM) credential.

Step 1: Eligibility and Application

The first step to becoming a Certified Professional Midwife is to verify your eligibility and submit an application. You must demonstrate that you have met the required education and training standards as set by the Midwives Alliance of North America (MANA). This includes successful completion of a midwifery education program, apprenticeship, or a portfolio evaluation process.

Applications can be found on the NARM website. Once your application has been reviewed and approved, you will be notified and can proceed to the next step.

Step 2: Scheduling the Exam

After your application has been approved, you can schedule your exam. NARM exams are administered by a professional testing service, Applied Measurement Professionals (AMP). You can schedule your exam at one of AMP's Assessment Centers. These are located throughout the United States and Canada.

To schedule your exam, you must first register with AMP. Once registered, you can schedule your exam date and location. Exam schedules may vary depending on the location, so it is recommended to register and schedule your exam as soon as possible.

Step 3: Taking the Exam

The final step is to take the exam. On the day of the exam, you should arrive at the testing center at least 15 minutes before your scheduled exam time. You will need to bring a valid, government-issued photo ID. The exam will be multiple-choice and will cover a variety of topics related to midwifery.

After you have completed the exam, your results will be available within a few weeks. If you pass the exam, you will receive your CPM credential from NARM.

Location Information and Website

The NARM does not have a physical office location as it operates primarily online. However, it is recognized and accepted throughout North America, including the United States and Canada.

The NARM website is a valuable resource for anyone interested in becoming a Certified Professional Midwife. It includes information about the certification process, eligibility requirements, exam preparation resources, and more.


The Certified Professional Midwife credential, issued by NARM, is accredited by the National Commission for Certifying Agencies (NCCA), the accrediting body of the Institute for Credentialing Excellence (ICE, formerly NOCA).

North American Registry of Midwives Exams

NARM Certified Professional Midwife (CPM)

The NARM Certified Professional Midwife (CPM) certification test is a comprehensive examination that evaluates a candidate's proficiency and knowledge of midwifery. This rigorous test covers a wide range of topics, including prenatal care, labor and birth, emergency skills, postpartum care, and newborn care. Candidates are assessed on both theoretical understanding and practical skills. The certification is recognized nationally in the United States and demonstrates a midwife's competence and commitment to the highest standards of care in the midwifery profession.

100 - Multiple Choice
Midwifery Counseling, Education and Communication - 5%
General Healthcare Skills - 5%
Maternal Health Assessment - 10%
Prenatal - 25%
Labor, Birth and Immediate Postpartum - 35%
Postpartum - 15%
Well-Baby Care - 5%

270 Minutes