This is the content of the pop-over!

FMCSA Exam & FMCSA Certification Info

How to get FMCSA Certification

In order to get certified as a medical examiner by the FMCSA, you will need to join the National Registry of Certified Medical Examiners (NRCME), complete certification training, and pass the certification exam.

Who is the FMCSA (CDL/CME)?

The Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) is a branch of the United States Department of Transportation that regulates the trucking industry in the United States. They are responsible for issuing the Commercial Driver's License (CDL) and the Certified Medical Examiner (CME) certification, which are required for certain professional driving positions.

Scheduling your FMCSA exam

Step 1: Eligibility and Application

Before you can take the certification exams, you must first meet the eligibility requirements. For the CDL, this typically includes being at least 21 years old (or 18 for intrastate travel), having a valid driver's license, and passing a medical exam. For the CME, you must be a licensed medical professional (doctor, nurse practitioner, physician assistant, etc.). Once you meet the eligibility requirements, you can apply for the exams. For the CDL, you'll need to apply through your state's Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). For the CME, you'll need to apply through the FMCSA. The applications can typically be found on the respective websites.

Step 2: Scheduling the Exam

After your application has been accepted, you can schedule your exam. For the CDL, this will likely be done through your state's DMV. For the CME, you'll schedule your exam through the FMCSA. You can typically schedule your exam online or over the phone.

Step 3: Taking the Exam

Once you've scheduled your exam, you can take it at the designated testing center. For the CDL, this will likely be at a DMV office or other approved location. For the CME, this will be at an approved testing center. The locations for the testing centers can typically be found on the website.

Location Information and Website

The FMCSA is headquartered in Washington, D.C., but the exams are offered at locations throughout the United States. You should check with your local DMV or the FMCSA website to find the nearest testing center. The FMCSA website is This website includes information on the CDL and CME certifications, including eligibility requirements, application processes, and testing locations.

CDL Exams

FMCSA Certified Medical Examiners (CME)

The FMCSA Certified Medical Examiners certification test is a comprehensive examination designed to assess the competency of healthcare professionals in conducting physical examinations for commercial motor vehicle drivers. This test evaluates knowledge in areas such as medical standards and guidelines, health history, and physical examination procedures as outlined by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA). Successful completion confirms an examiner's understanding of FMCSA's physical qualifications standards and ability to apply them in a consistent and medically sound manner, ensuring the safety of our nation's highways.

100 - Multiple Choice
Identification and History - 20%
Physical Examination and Evaluation - 25%
Diagnostic Tests and/or Referrals - 18%
Documentation of Ancillary Information - 7%
Health Education Counseling - 4%
Risk Assessment - 14%
Certification Outcomes and Intervals - 12%

180 Minutes
FMCSA Commercial Driver's License (CDL)

The FMCSA Commercial Driver's License (CDL) certification test is a mandatory examination for individuals seeking to operate commercial motor vehicles in the United States. The test, regulated by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA), evaluates a candidate's knowledge and skills related to the operation and safety of different types of commercial vehicles. It consists of a written knowledge test and a skills test, including vehicle inspection, basic controls, and on-road driving. Passing this test is essential to ensure the driver's understanding of traffic laws, safety rules, and vehicle operation, promoting safer highways.

100 - Multiple Choice
180 Minutes